belofte – pledge

“I pledge to begin taking as many of the following steps as I can to stave off the worst effects of global warming, and spread the word. In so doing I will cut fossil fuel use. I will do some or all of the following:

1.   Cut down on driving my vehicle, or carpool. I will walk or bike, and not buy a car if I do not have one (best of all). I will support and use mass transit. I may work closer to my home.

2.   Cut down on working just for money: I can thereby barter more, and cut down on commuting.

3.   Depave my driveway, or help others’ depave their driveways, or depave parking lots, and grow food in depaved land.

4.   Unplug or retire my television, and perhaps go off the electricity grid. I will reduce energy for heating, and share appliances such as my oven with neighbors, and not buy or use power tools or jet skis, etc.

5.   Publicly oppose new road construction and road widening in my community, to start undoing sprawl, prevent growth in traffic, and halt the spread of forest roads allowing clearcuts.

6.   Take vacations without jet air travel, and avoid career activity dependent on jet travel.

7.   Plant trees, collect rainwater, and avoid overusing municipal water as it is energy-consumptive (and thus may emit CO2, the main heat-trapping gas that fossil fuels release).

8.   Buy local products, buy as little plastic as possible, carry a travel mug. Minimize consumption. Support alternative plant materials to cut down on petrochemicals and trees for paper. Avoid eating animal products especially shipped-in beef.

9.   Not bring more children into the world, or limit my offspring to one, and possibly adopt. I recognize the threat of overpopulation.

10.   Inform my community and the greater national and global community on the need to take action such as the above for climate stability.”

Dit bericht werd geplaatst in duurzame lijstjes, duurzame politiek, voluntary simplicity. Bookmark de permalink .

Geef een reactie

